I’m touched (in more ways than one)

I just wanted to say a quick hello and to say thank you all very very much for all the messages of support I’ve received.

I deliberately didn’t go to Hankley today, as I was expecting the big explosive stuff to be happening, and I knew I couldn’t film it, talk about it etc etc. We were around 15 miles away at Blackheath this afternoon to walk the pooch, and the camera helicopter went over. It’s conceivable that this camera helicopter was nothing to do with Skyfall, but it seems odd that another waspy ‘copter with a big ball camera under its nose would be whizzing around the Surrey countryside on the very day that I’d been told the hole in the wall might come to fruition. I have to say that seeing the helicopter go over and anticipating what would be happening on site did have me gnawing my knuckles in frustration at what I’m no longer able to do.

One thing I do really want to say to anyone who happens to be reading this who is going along to Hankley to watch the filming (a lot of people are, judging by how full the car park has been)…

For heaven’s sake pick up after your dog, and after you’ve picked up, don’t leave the resulting bag hanging in a tree like some macabre christmas decoration. Do you think the poo fairy is going to come along and take it away for you?

Phew, glad I got that off my chest. There were about 30 bags of dog waste left lying around the heath last weekend. What on earth is wrong with people?

I’m still trying to figure out what, if anything, I’ve done wrong or illegally, and what I can still blog about. Bear with me, and in the meantime, here’s a selection from my Fantastic Fungi page. Noone at Eon productions can object to magical mushrooms, surely?

If you want to know more about the lovely lichens here, have a look at this blog post.

6 thoughts on “I’m touched (in more ways than one)

  1. It’s a long time ago I went searching for mushrooms as a boy. But I can still remember (45 years back, I think). Some are a bit toxic, I see, like the amanita-family. At first sight I would say: The more colorful than less toxic and the ugly mushrooms are more deadly (?)

    • Charles the fly agaric (A. muscaria) are just the archetypal’toadstool’, aren’t they. They won’t kill you, unless you take vast amounts, but they will certainly make you vomit copiously and hallucinate! The ones that will kill you (death caps, webcaps) are deadly dull. There are NO hard and fast rules with fungi about what will kill you though – I always say NEVER EAT A MUSHROOM THAT YOU HAVE NOT IDENTIFIED UTTERLY RELIABLY!!!

  2. Pingback: Wildlife photographer update | Daniel Craig is not Bond.com

    • Sirius thank you so much for your coverage! Yesterday I was racking my brains for what to put up the blog, photography wise, and then I read your lovely piece that said you liked my fungi. I thought I’d put up a selection of them to tide people over whilst I decide what I can or can’t do next. I was on-site today watching them filming with helicopters. The world, his wife and their cameras were out there too, so I don’t think that this is confidential information!

      • Thank you so much for all the wonderful photos. The normal topic of your blog is something our family truly enjoys. There was a place near by that used to be open for walks which had all kind of wonderful plants, inducing some rare pitcher plants. Nature walks, nature centres, nature documentaries, were a big part of growing up. Absolutely love your photo blog. The name Fantastic Fungi is too clever to ignore and you had such wonderful pictures to go with it!

        So sorry for your Bond troubles. The part that bothers the me most is I do not think you were in the wrong and I do not think the studio had the right to do what they did. I understand EON’s desire for secrecy but there are so many spoilers and photos already out there calling the Military Police on local bloggers seems like overkill.

        I do hope nobody on the crew got into any real trouble, they’re hard working people and I don’t believe they, you, or anybody involved intended the production any harm. With the excitement of a major production coming to town it is natural for the crew and people watching to mingle.

        Wanted to let you know about a Photographers Activist group, http://photographernotaterrorist.org/map/ , they have some information about the MOD byelaws. We are going to contact them to see if they can shed any light on the laws involved.

        Best wishes,
        Joe (AKA Sirius)

Leave a comment