Are you lookin’ at me?

Last year we had lots of Broad Bodied Chaser dragonfly nymphs in the pond; I captured the astonishing emergence and transformation of one in this post.

This year I’ve seen very few of those nymphs (you can’t miss them, they’re big scary buggers!), so I was surprised to discover this newly emerged male on a bogbean leaf, sitting about two inches above a large frog. Much as I love our frogs, I think they can cope without eating this beautiful creature, so I rescued him. Having interfered once, I then felt responsible for him, and so had to guard him for the next couple of hours from our voracious and sharp-eyed resident sparrows. I know I shouldn’t intervene, but sometimes I can’t resist it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “Are you lookin’ at me?

  1. Amazing photographs. The eyes are terrific! Did you use a close-up lens? I think it is even closer than a macro lens. I could not have left such a beautiful creature as a snack for a frog or a sparrow.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one Amelia – I know I shouldn’t interfere but sometimes I can’t resist it! They were taken on the macro setting of my lumix tz30, which allows me to focus from 3cms away. The close up picture was then cropped to make it appear larger still. I’d love to have a DSLR for really close up stuff, but my lumix does a pretty good job.

Leave a Reply

