A carpet of blue

This is my favourite bluebell walk – thank you Fancy Free Walks for providing such detailed instructions. I love this wood; towering beeches, often planted in ancient boundary lines, and the results of past coppicing – tall, multi-stemmed ash trees with an understory of hazel. I wrote about it last year here, and it’s interesting to see how much later, bigger and more vivid the bluebells are this year. Last year’s dry winter and hot March resulted in a short, early season with small flowers. This year they’re much later but the flowers are big and vibrant and the scent is overwhelming. I never feel that I really capture the essence of bluebells en masse, but this is the closest I’ve come so far, I think.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 thoughts on “A carpet of blue

  1. I’ve been loving the bluebells when I walk in the woods with the dog lately. I love how, close up, they look almost weedy, but so utterly magnificent in swathes. Lovely photos.

Leave a Reply

