Vipera berus

Well, I made a rash promise that I’d get better adder pictures before doing a proper post about the adder… I’ve got better pictures! They aren’t fantastic, but I’m pleased with them anyway, however I’ve been researching the adder and I don’t feel I’m anywhere near composing a comprehensive post. The more I read, the more interested I get, particularly in the venom. So I’ll keep that post in draft form for now.

In the meantime, here is this gorgeous male adder I saw at Bramshot Heath on Tuesday. Isn’t he just beautiful?

Also, here’s a little question for my readers… what is our only other native venomous vertebrate?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

6 thoughts on “Vipera berus

Leave a Reply

