Last day of summer

The kids went back to school today, so I thought I’d make the most of the weather yesterday and take my daughter and her friend to the beach. We are around forty miles from The Witterings in West Sussex. At the far end of West Wittering beach is a nature reserve, East Head, formed by the shifting sand dune spit that makes up one side of the entrance to Chichester harbour. It’s a great place to go in winter when migratory birds flock to the salt marshes, and a great place to go any time of year for the fine pale sand beach and shifting shallows, framed by marram grass dunes. It’s a rare habitat in the south east of England and it never fails to lift my spirits with its wide open views and big skies.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

10 thoughts on “Last day of summer

  1. This, very much, has me wanting to head across the water to visit my childhood best friend who moved to England. Absolutely beautiful…and so different than Florida beaches or even the Indiana dunes of my youth.

      • She lived in Chichester, I believe. According to her FB page, she now lives in Bognor Regis. Funny you should mention Cornwall. That is where my granny was from. I’ve always wanted to go there. I hear they make some amazing pasties. And Scotland? After reading all my Julie Garwood romances I’d be tempted to steal a Highlander (though I don’t think my husband would like that, LOL!).

        There is so much of GB I want to see. I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before I head your way for that visit. 😉

      • This beach is about 7 miles from Chichester! Bognor Regis is very nearby too. Generally the beaches along this stretch of coast aren’t very glamorous at all – they’re mainly shingle and are quite plain. The Witterings are lovely though and East Head is, imo, the best bit of all.
        Cornwall, on the other hand, is stunningly beautiful and much wilder. The westernmost part of the peninsula, West Penwith, has a really magical quality to it.

Leave a Reply

